Who We Are

The name of the Co-operative is Ngāti Ruapani ki Uta ki Tai Co-operative Society Limited (abbreviated to Ngāti Ruapani Society Co-op Ltd in this document).


We are co-operative company which is called a Primary Community Co-operative (Māori Community Society).


We are not a Common Law Trust or Māori Land Trust and are governed by our constitution which falls under the Co-operative Companies Act 1996. We have five current Directors who have invested into this co-op. We invite membership to interested whānau and hapū members of Ngāti Ruapani ki Uta ki Tai.

Establishment Directors

Kath Peebles
Justice of the Peace

Ngāti Ruapani ki Waikaremoana, Ngāi Tuhoe, Ngāti Kahungunu

Dr Rapata Wiri
Kaihautū Mātauranga – Academic Director

Ngāti Ruapani ki Waikaremoana, Ngāi Tuhoe, Te Arawa

Arahina Rahiti
BA University of Waikato 1999
Graduate Diploma Teaching University of Auckland 2001
Mentor in mathematics teaching Massey University

Mark Henderson
Te Hononga Hapori Harakeke | Harakeke Alliance [HHH} – Director, Biodiversity & Business Consultant

Ngāti Hinekura, Ngāti Ruapani ki Waikaremoana

Kera Mita
Kaumātua Carer

Ruapani ki Manutuke, Rongowhakaata

Our mission statement is


“Tāwharautia a Ruapani, mai uta ki tai” – “Shelter the Descendants of Ruapani from Forest to Coast”.